Skip to content

His Story – Our Story

May 10, 2015
“The Scriptures are the revelation of God written 
and we, God’s people, are to be the revelation of God 
lived out.” 
(from The Dietz's message on Mother’s Day, May 10, 2015)

Bible

God’s plan has always been to reveal Himself to the world that He created, to the people He loves. He does that through the written Word and through our lives. Our stories are meant to show others in our world something of God’s character: His kindness, His protection, His love for justice, His forgiveness, His faithfulness…

 

As we read the Scriptures we learn the purest Truth of who God is. God has preserved His Word for thousands of years so that we might know Him, understand His ways and enjoy His companionship. In addition, He orchestrates our life stories to echo who He is so that we remind each other of Him and call each other to live out His redemptive purposes. (Hebrews 10:24 calls that “inciting one another to love and good deeds.”)

 my story God's glory

As we read His Word and saturate our minds with His thoughts, His purposes, and His desires, we are filled with Him so that His life, His story overflows in the way we live out our story. His story infiltrates our story and our story echoes His story. That’s the plan that God initiated in eternity past and fulfilled when He sent His Son, Jesus. He invites us to participate with Him as He reveals Himself to His world.

 my life God's story

A *hymn written in 1866 gives voice to this joyful practice:

I love to tell the story of unseen things above,
Of Jesus and His glory, of Jesus and His love;
I love to tell the story, because I know ’tis true,
It satisfies my longings as nothing else would do.

Refrain: I love to tell the story,
’Twill be my theme in glory,
To tell the old, old story
Of Jesus and His love.

.

God invites us to tell His story as we live out our story.

 LivingGodsStory_logo_webpage_subtitle4

There is great value in looking at our life story through the lens of His story. To remember the times when kindness was a vibrant reflection of His kindness,
when self-sacrifice was a resounding echo of His sacrifice,
when full-colored forgiveness demonstrated His forgiveness.
Even chapters of failure to live out His loving ways can be used to point to His perfect love – when our imperfection is acknowledged and forgiven.

.

There is great value in hearing the stories of others and listening for reminders of who our God is.

open story book

Maybe you’ll make it your spring project to hear a story – or tell a story – that will “incite” someone to live out a more clear reflection of our loving, powerful God. If you want to pursue that ministry of listening/story telling, here are some questions that can jumpstart a story telling session:

What is the most clear demonstration of grace that you have ever encountered?
What is the best example of unconditional love that you have ever experienced?
Can you tell me a time when you had the chance to show fierce protection?
What can I learn from your life story about forgiveness?

 Tell your story. Hear His story.

Find His story in someone else’s story.

You’ll meet some strange and wonderful people along the way.

……….

*I Love to Tell the Story – Arabella K. Hankey (1866)

  1. I love to tell the story of unseen things above, Of Jesus and His glory, of Jesus and His love; I love to tell the story, because I know ’tis true, It satisfies my longings as nothing else would do.
    • Refrain: I love to tell the story, ’Twill be my theme in glory, To tell the old, old story Of Jesus and His love.
  2. I love to tell the story, more wonderful it seems Than all the golden fancies of all our golden dreams; I love to tell the story, it did so much for me, And that is just the reason I tell it now to thee.
  3. I love to tell the story, ’tis pleasant to repeat, What seems each time I tell it more wonderfully sweet; I love to tell the story, for some have never heard The message of salvation from God’s own holy Word.
  4. I love to tell the story, for those who know it best Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest; And when in scenes of glory I sing the new, new song, ’Twill be the old, old story that I have loved so long.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally Henry permalink
    August 15, 2016 12:14 pm

    Becky – I love this! This is the theme of our women’s retreat this fall… can I ask where you got the image of the Bible with the pages folded like a heart? I’d love to use that, if it’s not copyrighted! Please let me know – thank you for sharing your heart in this blog… very inspiring and humbling!

    • October 13, 2016 1:57 pm

      Sally,
      I’m so sorry that I missed seeing your comment earlier. I am not active on this blog anymore as I have set up camp at http://www.ProvisionsForTheSoul.com and I just happened to pass by here as I looked for a bit of information I had previously posted. Hope you will connect with me over there so that our paths cross again soon. B

      And PS – Praying that you will see God’s blessing on your fall retreat.

Leave a Reply

