Skip to content

Pinterest and the Parable of the Blueberries

May 17, 2015
tags: ,

They were dead. Very dead. That’s all there was to it. We might as well admit it and move on. And it wasn’t really anybody’s fault. Life got too busy to give them the attention they needed initially and then we were gone to see grandchildren celebrate birthdays and there was the business trip and …

The blueberry bushes. We left them in the pots too long. See what I mean?

brown leaves

 They were in great shape when we got them and I had every reason to believe Lot, my new greenhouse friend, when she promised that we would pick blueberries off them this  year! I could see the little baby blueberries on the branches just waiting to get plump enough to garnish my ice cream, I mean my organic granola. (Just in case my health coach/daughter reads this.)

I was very sad, more than just disappointed. It was part of my anticipation about nurturing the wildish open spots  behind our house. You know the dream … resting in the hammock. Gentle breeze. Sound of the creek. Eating freshly picked blueberries.

Truth be told, I often have dead dreams about plant life. Like the lavender. 1 out of 3 is barely making it.

lavendar

I am just not that great at horticulture. (I had to use spell check on the word even.) I can visualize grand, beautiful things but it doesn’t take long before I’m in over my pay grade. Which is why I thought the blueberries that already had some baby fruit would succeed where the roses had failed.

And the roses should have worked because I got extra advice from Pinterest.

I needed to prune the rose-bush by the back deck (on Valentine’s Day, according to my Garden Club friend) and whatever I pruned off that bush I would take around to the front flower bed so that the scrawny bush there would be full and lush and lovely.

rose bush

See what I mean about scrawny?

(I imagined a result kind of like these beauties that my friend, Norma, gave me for Mother’s Day.)

roses

pink rose

  The Pinterest steps were clear: place pruned rose shoots in a potato. Bury the potato. Watch the potato nourish the rose-bush. I was very confident of success in spite of the silent raised eyebrows from The Dietz. This would not be a dead plant dream.

potato roses

From the ACTUAL Pinterest post!

A couple of weeks after the rose transplant, it was obvious that the pruned shoots from the back deck were not going to flourish in the front bed. So, I pulled them out and tossed them in the garbage to avoid the neighbor’s questions: Why is Becky filling that front flower bed with sticks?

A couple of weeks later when The Dietz got home from work, I greeted him with “Ta Da! Look in the front flower bed! It grew after all!”

 potato

“Babe,” (He calls me that when he’s preparing me to hear hard news.) “THAT is a potato plant.” And a glorious potato plant it is indeed! But, it didn’t go in the Great Gardner win column.

Now you understand how that whole potato/rose saga made me a little skeptical when we finally got around to planting the blueberries. Trust me, they looked D.E.A.D. I was ready to admit defeat and go see Lot again to get a fresh start.

However, The Dietz stepped up as a man of faith – and action. He believed the bushes could be rescued. He decided to move them from the greenhouse buckets and put them in actual earth. And actually water them.

Lots of gentle water. And often. And water them again. He said a past rose-bush – potato calamity did not mean that all of our future horticulture efforts would end badly. And then he watered them again.

I admit, my skepticism continued until he took me out to the bushes today to show me …  SPOUTS of new leaves! All over the bushes! Beautiful little buds!

blueberry buds

Ok I admit this one is from Google

little bud1

THIS little bud is actually on our bush!

We won’t have blueberries this year. But, they will come.

With nurturing that is ridiculously tenacious,
radically faithful,
redeemingly tender … the fruit WILL come.

And I’m thinking there is a lesson to be learned from this blueberry parable.

About people and relationships and calamity of all kinds.
About not giving up too soon.
About not letting hard history dilute hope.
About ridiculous tenacity, radical faithfulness, and redeeming nurture.

blueberries

Also a Google image

Do you have any “blueberry bushes” in your life?

“I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord, be of good courage. Wait, I say, on the Lord.” Psalm 27:13,14

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

