Skip to content

I am Thine, O Lord – Time to GO!

June 8, 2015

I am thine

When I had coffee with the Lord this morning, He made it very clear that it’s time to get on with it. The “it” being living fully, abundantly, in the zone.

Now, to some of you this will be a “no duh” revelation. But, I’ve been stuck in “fly below the radar,” “stay inside out of the rain,” “leave no wake,” “be as neutral as possible,” and “turn the dial down to safe” mode. It’s really understandable, given some circumstances, but even with some soft wooing by the Spirit of God, I’ve been slow to emerge.

So this morning when I read My Utmost for His Highest (June 8), the message came through pretty clearly from John 13:17, “If you know these things happy you are if you DO them.”

Oswald Chambers wrote this piece with a nautical theme: Launch all on God; go out on the great swelling tide of His purpose … If you believe in Jesus, you are not to spend all your time in the smooth waters just inside the harbor bar, full of delight, but always moored; you have to get out through the harbor bar into the great depths of God and begin to know for yourself………. It is a great deal better to fulfill the purpose of God in your life by discerning His will than to perform great acts of self-sacrifice.

 old hymnal

Then I remembered the words to the old, old song that played as I made the aforementioned coffee: I am thine I Lord, I have heard They voice and it told Thy love to me.

I am His. I am confident of that.

And the fact that He wants me to be His is most incredible! But I know it to be true because that is what His revelation to us in the Scriptures has said from the beginning. Over and over He communicates His loving desire to befriend us, to commune with us, to lead us, to adopt us, to possess us, to guide us, to be glorified through us, to bring us near – into His presence.

Then, just in case I missed it, He gave me Psalm 100:3-5 this morning too.

Know that the LORD, he is God!

It is he who made us, and we are his;

we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,

and his courts with praise!

Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the LORD is good;

his steadfast love endures forever,

and his faithfulness to all generations.

I found that passage as I read sweet truth from “Jesus Calling”: I want you to be all mine… Hold back nothing from me. . . Anything you bring to me I transform.

So I go into the rest of the day singing that old, timeless, comforting, exciting truth…

I am Thine, O Lord … And I long to rise in the arms of faiths and be closer drawn to Thee.

Where will this “rising” in the arms of faith take me ?

 holding on

I have no idea. But I know regardless of the physical circumstances, He will be there and He will draw me close to Himself.

And I know that, though the launching “out on the great swelling tide of His purpose” may be will be hard, it will be good! And I know that His purposes will be accomplished and His work will be finished!

I am Thine, O Lord.

I am Thine – all the way Home!

home

Here is a beautiful, fresh version of that old song.  I Am Thine, O Lord. (If an ad comes up first, I apologize, I have no control over that.) 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

